Saturday, September 16, 2006

Festival Awards

With the close of the festival, the various awards were announced. The Swarovski Cultural Innovation Award, given to a film in the Visions program for "artistry, innovation and audacity" as recognized by a jury of visual artists, went to Takva - A Man's Fear of God from Özer Kýzýltan. Honorable mention went to Khadak from Peter Brosens and Jessica Woodworth.

The People's Choice Award, as voted on by festivalgoers when they leave a film, went to Bella from Alejandro Gomez Monteverde. Honorable mentions went to Mon Meilleur Ami from Patrice Leconte, and Dixie Chicks: Shut Up and Sing from Barbara Kopple and Cecilia Peck.

The Diesel Discovery Award, given to a film in the Discovery program and voted on by the international media, went to Joachim Trier's Reprise.

The Prize of the International Critics, or FIPRESCI Prize, voted on by an international jury from the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique (the International Federation of Film Critics), went to Death of a President by Gabriel Range.

The CityTv Award for Best Canadian First Feature went to Sur La Trace d'Igor Rizzi from Noël Mitrani.

The Toronto-City Award for Best Canadian Feature Film went to Manufactured Landscapes from Jennifer Baichwal. Honorable mention went to Monkey Warfare from Reg Harkema.

The Short Cuts Canada Award went to Les Jours from Maxime Giroux.

The festival press release can be found here:


My experiences at the Toronto International Film Festival. Note this blog is not affiliated with the Toronto International Film Festival Group or the festival itself.
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites