Sunday, September 14, 2008

2008 TIFF Awards

While the festival does not have films in a juried competition like Cannes, awards are given out in a few different areas:

Best Canadian Short Film: Chris Chong Chan Fui's Block B. Special citation to Denis Villeneuve's Next Floor.

Citytv Award for Best Canadian First Feature: Marie-Hélène Cousineau and Madeline Piujuq Ivalu's Before Tomorrow. Special citation to Lyne Charlebois' Borderline.

City of Toronto-Citytv Award for Best Canadian Feature: Rodrigue Jean's Lost Song. Special citation to Atom Egoyan's Adoration.

Diesel Discovery Award, voted by the Festival press corps: Steve McQueen's Hunger.

Prize of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize): for films in the Discovery programme, the winner is Derick Martini's Lymelife. For films in the Special Presentations programme, the winner is Steve Jacobs' Disgrace.

Cadillac People's Choice Award, voted by Festival audiences: Danny Boyle's Slumdog Millionaire. First runner-up: Kristopher Belman's More Than A Game. Second runner-up: Cyrus Nowrasteh's The Stoning of Soraya M.

Full details can be found in this press release:


I'm surprised that there's no Visions award this year.

I'm surprized I didn't see you at some of these screenings, sounds like we had a similar schedule!

They cut back the Visions program substantially this year, it would have been great to have an award but with less to compare it too I'm not surprized.

Shannon, me too, but then again I was pretty out of it by the end. :-)

My experiences at the Toronto International Film Festival. Note this blog is not affiliated with the Toronto International Film Festival Group or the festival itself.
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites